The Friends Association for the Redemption Church Organs (Association des Amis des Orgues de la Rédemption (A.A.O.R.) was created in June 1978 to help the Parish of the Redemption in Lyon, France to preserve and be part to the restoration of the great Merklin symphonic organ, property of the city of Lyon, and one of the most beautiful instruments in the Lyon area.

Since many years, the great Merklin organ already suffered from a number of malfunctions, and became totally mute in 2006. Since 1978, thanks to the money collected on the occasion of numerous concerts, to the contributions of the members of the Association and the subsidies from the Parish, our Association managed to gather an important financial intake to participate, in a fairly high proportion, at a full restoration of the instrument.

Unfortunately, the city of Lyon, owner of the Merklin organ, clearly expressed in 2010 its intention to indefinitely postpone the long-awaited restoration of the instrument, and preferred to launch a procedure for registration of the organ as a historical monument.

Faced with this situation and to overcome the silence of the great organ, under the leadership of Father Georges Favre, formerly priest of the parish, and Hubert Fournier, former president of the A.A.O.R., our Association met the decision to devote its financial resources to the construction of a brand new pipe organ, in the church nave, adapted to the liturgy, and able to serve many concerts organised at the Redemption Church.

And indeed, since 2012, a new 26 stops instrument of baroque type, built by the organ workshop Hermanos DESMOTTES, and now property of our Association, accompanies ceremonies and allows for the organisation of various concerts in the large nave of the Redemption Church.

Our Association today continues its efforts to complete the financing of the new organ and regularly intervene with the city of Lyon and the DRAC (Direction Régionale des Affaires Culturelles) for the restoration within a reasonable timeframe of the Merklin organ which is now registered in its entirety (instrumental part and casing) as a Historic Monument by decision of the French Ministry of Culture on 18 June 2015.

Our resources come from contributions of members, subscriptions to pipes, quests for the concerts and various subsidies.

L’ASSOCIATION DES AMIS DES ORGUES DE LA RÉDEMPTION

L’Association des Amis des Orgues de la Rédemption (A.A.O.R.) a été créée en juin 1978 dans le but d’aider la Paroisse de la Rédemption de Lyon à entretenir et participer à la restauration du grand orgue symphonique MERKLIN, propriété de la ville de Lyon, et l’un des plus beaux instruments de la région lyonnaise.

Le grand orgue Merklin donnait depuis déjà de nombreuses annés des signes de fatigue, jusqu’à devenir muet en 2006. Depuis 1978, grâce aux sommes reçues à l’occasion de nombreux concerts, aux cotisations des membres de l’Association et par des subventions de la Paroisse, notre Association avait rassemblé un apport financier important pour participer dans une bonne proportion à une restauration complète de l’instrument.

Malheureusement, la Ville de LYON, propriétaire de l’Orgue MERKLIN, a  exprimé clairement en 2010 son intention de reporter sine die la restauration tant attendue, la Ville de Lyon préférant lancer une procédure de classement de l’instrument.

Face à cette situation et afin de pallier le silence du Grand Orgue, sous l’impulsion du Père Georges Favre, alors curé de la Paroisse et de Hubert Fournier alors président de l’A.A.O.R., notre Association a pris la décision de consacrer ses moyens financiers à la construction d’un nouvel orgue à tuyaux , adapté à la liturgie, propre à servir lors des nombreux concerts organisés dans notre église, et installé dans la nef.

Ainsi, depuis 2012, un nouvel instrument de type baroque de 26 jeux construit par le facteur d’orgues Hermanos DESMOTTES et propriété de notre Association, accompagne cérémonies et concerts organisés dans le vaste vaisseau de l’église de la Rédemption.

Notre Association poursuit aujourd’hui ses efforts pour achever le financement du nouvel orgue et intervenir régulièrement auprès de la Ville de LYON et de la DRAC (Direction des Affaires Culturelles) pour obtenir la restauration dans des délais raisonnables de l’orgue MERKLIN qui est maintenant classé dans sa totalité (partie instrumentale et buffet) au titre des Monuments Historiques par arrêté ministériel du 18 juin 2015.

Nos ressources proviennent des cotisations des adhérents, de souscriptions de tuyaux, de quêtes à l’occasion des concerts et de subventions diverses.

Les dons consentis à l’Association des Amis des Orgues de la Rédemption donnent lieu aux réductions d’impôts prévues aux articles 200 et 238 bis du CGI.